Abuse Reporting and Prevention: RC Zero Tolerance


Hours: 4    Approvals: ARF, RCFE
Categories: , , Tags: , ,

Course Expiration
Once you register you have up to one year to complete the course.

Course Description
Failure to report elder or dependent adult abuse in long-term health care facilities is a crime. California law Welfare and Institution Code Section 1502, requires all community care facility to provide training to all staff in recognizing and reporting abuse.

2013 Changes
Since 1999 there has been one change in the law in 2013. Known as the Elder and Dependent Adult Civil Protection Act (W&I 15600). The law added “serious bodily injury to the definition of Elder and Dependent Abuse. The law requires providers to contact law enforcement within two hours of observing, obtaining knowledge or suspecting physical abuse.

In 2013 DDS Required All Regional Centers to Implement a Zero Tolerance Policy for Abuse Reporting. In the Regional Center Contract, Language DDS requires that all vendors be notified annually of the Zero Tolerance for Abuse Policy. The contract is specific in requiring that all vendors are mandated reporters and follow the Welfare and Institution Code 15630 – 15632 reporting requirements. The current online course incorporates this additional reporting requirement for Regional Center vendors.

The objectives of the course are:
Learn who is a mandated reporter.
Learn what are your legal responsibilities as a mandated reporter.
Learn what are the reporting exemptions.
Learn to identify the different types of abuse:
Learn how reports of abuse are investigated.
Learn how to report and 2013 guidelines for physical abuse.
Learn the penalties for not reporting and protections for reporters.

Learn how a stressful work environment can be a causal factor in abuse.

Learn what are characteristics of abusive caretakers.
Become familiar with reporting tools including smart application.

Become familiar with the 2013 Regional Center Zero Tolerance Policy

Understand abuse of developmentally disabled (including sexual abuse).

Learn how to reduce the risk of abuse in both the elderly and developmentally disabled.

Scroll to Top